News | Daughter announces Debut Album

Having been a big fan of these guys for a while now, FFS are thrilled to announce the news of Daughter’s new and debut album, “If You Leave”, due for release on March 18th 3013, via 4AD Records (and April 13th in N.America via Glassnote Records).

If You Leave was recorded by the London-based trio Elena, Igor and and Remi over a period of months at home and in various spaces across London. Production was overseen by Igor, and the album was mastered by Geoff Pesche at the infamous Abbey Road Studios.

Less of a statement of intent, these ten songs from the upcoming album are more of a snapshot of a year in Daughter’s short life. Exploring themes which lie deep within the band themselves, If You Leaveis a bold move for an act still in its infancy, displaying a maturity that belies their youth.

Daughter started life in 2010 as an outlet for the musings of Elena and Igor, who at the time were merely fellow classmates studying music at the same college. A four-track EP His Young Heart was self-released in April 2011, The Wild Youth EP followed soon after. Remi then completed the band in late-2011. On the strength of those two releases alone, the trio have gained a loyal fan base, which continues to grow. Daughter’s last single ‘Smother’ rocketed with support, whilst their first major UK tour – commencing next week – is completely sold out; a clear indication that this young trio’s star is on the ascent.

Team FFS are delighted to see the band’s next step into the creation of their first album, and are in no doubt to bet they’ll be as successful as they were with the EP’s, if not 100 times more so.

Track listing from “If You Leave” is as follows:

1. Winter

2. Smother

3. Youth 

4. Still

5. Lifeforms

6. Tomorrow

7. Human

8. Touch

9. Amsterdam

10. Shallows

Finally, here is a lovely track of their’s produced by the always-wonderful Watch Listen Tell: ‘Medicine’:

See here for more information of Daughter’s tour and upcoming news and releases.