News | Radio 2 Folk Awards CD Release

bbc=folk-awardsThe BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards have just released a double CD, featuring 27 of the artists nominated for¬†this year’s award. Artists on the album include the likes of Cara Dillon, The Will Pond Band, and Maz O’Connor. It was released on April 20th and is now available to buy.

The awards ceremony itself took¬†place on April 22nd at the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff. if you missed it, you will still be able to stream it on BBC iPlayer for 30 days after the event. This year’s event was the award’s 16th year running, and featured a live performance from the legendary Kate Rusby.

The nominations for the 2015 Folk Awards are as follows:

Folk Singer of the Year – Cara Dillon / Julie Fowls / Nancy Kerr / Jez Lowe

Best Duo: Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker / O’Hooley & Tidow / Greg Russell & Ciaran Algar / Chris White & Julie Matthews

Best Group – Bellowhead / The Furrow Collective / The Gloaming / The Young ‘Uns

Best Album – Fair Warning – The Rails / Nothing Can Bring Back the Hour – Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker / Sweet Visitor – Nancy Kerr / The Moral of the Elephant – Martin & Eliza Carthy / Tincian – 9Bach

Horizon Award – Ange Hardy / Maz O’Connor / Stick in the Wheel / The Rails

Musician of the Year – Martin Green/ Will Pound / Sam Sweeney / Kathryn Tickell

Best Original Song – Swim to the Star – Peggy Seeger & Calum MacColl / The Necklace of Wrens – Michael Hartnett / The Pitmen Poets – Jez Lowe / The Spider and the Wolf – Paul Simmonds

Best Traditional Track – Bedlam – Stick in the Wheel / Handsome Molly – The Furrow Collective / Manus Mo Ruin – Cruinn / Samhradh Samhradh – The Gloaming

BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Award – Cup O’Joe / Roseanne Reid / Talisk / Wildwood Kin


For more information, visit the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards Website.