News | Eels line up 10th album

More than 15 years after they first burst on to the scene with ‘Novocaine For The Soul’, Eels show no sign of sputtering out.

Mark ‘E’ Everett has announced the band’s 10th studio album ‘Wonderful, Glorious’ will be released on February 4. Recorded in E’s brand new studio in California named The Compound, it will be the band’s first release since the trilogy of albums which concluded with Tomorrow Morning back in 2010.

“It was exciting,” says E. “It filled me with hope for limitless possibilities. And I realised I’d had a similar feeling when I first put the band together for the last two tours.”

That band, incidentally, includes guitarists The Chet and P-Boo, bass player Koool G Murder and drummer Knuckles. Jeffs, Bobs and Alans need not apply. All band members contributed to the writing process, and E says: “The only rule I had was ‘let’s try it,’” says Everett. “If anyone in the room had an idea, I’d say ‘let’s try it’.”

Track listing:

1. Bombs Away
2. Kinda Fuzzy
3. Accident Prone
4. Peach Blossom
5. On The Ropes
6. The Turnaround
7. New Alphabet
8. Stick Together
9. True Original
10. Open My Present
11. You’re My Friend
12. I Am Building A Shrine
13. Wonderful, Glorious