News | Nancy Elizabeth puts on dancing shoes with new track

Nancy Elizabeth Simon Says DanceAre you asking? Then Nancy Elizabeth is dancing.

The Wigan singer has unveiled an alternative version of the track ‘Simon Says Dance’, one of the stand-outs from her new album Dancing, released later this month.

Lyrically it’s a playful track, which begins: “We may think we’ve not met before but we’ve danced out our lives on a million dancefloors,” before a mesmerizing troupe of dance metaphors takes over.

Nancy explains the album’s title, saying: “I decided to call the album Dancing because in the middle of the night, the hours when it was created, I felt very aware of the passage of time. Rhythm is time marked out by sound or movement. Time moves on and everything moves with it.”

And while the album version of Simon Says Dance embodies that sentiment forming the heart of the record, here she kicks back a little, lets the synths take over and invites us on to the dancefloor.

‘Simon Says Dance’ is available to download now and Dancing is released on May 20.

There’s also a tour planned in June and a handful of other dates, listed below.

Fri, May 17 – Baronial Hall, Chetham’s School of Music, Manchester
Thu, Jun 20 – Leaf, Liverpool
Fri, Jun 21 – Cube Cinema, Bristol
Sun, Jun 23 – Exeter Phoenix, Exeter
Tue, Jun 25 – The Glad Café, Glasgow
Wed, Jun 26 – The Adelphi, Hull
Thu, Jun 27 – The Dog, Coventry
Fri, Jun 28 – The Dalston Victoria, London
Sat, Jun 29 – South Street Arts Centre, Reading
Sun, Jun 30 – International Anthony Burgess Foundation, Manchester
Wed, Jul 10 – Howard Assembly Room, Leeds
Fri, Aug 16 – Beacons Festival, Skipton

Comments