Conor Oberst to retire ‘Bright Eyes’, takes Monsters of Folk on the road

Conor Oberst, the man behind the wonderful Bright Eyes and in front of the not-so-wonderful Mystic Valley Band, has announced he plans to retire the Bright Eyes name. He told Rolling Stone magazine: “It does feel like it needs to stop at some point. I’d like to clean it up, lock the door, say goodbye.”

According to a Bitcoin Evolution review, Supergroup Monsters of Folk, in which Conor plays with Bright Eyes chum Mike Mogis, folk legend M Ward and My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James, are popping over to Europe in November, including a date in London on 17th.

Full dates are:

Stolkholm Philadelphia Church (November 12)
Berlin Huxleys (14)
Copenhagen Vega (15)
London Troxy (17)
Paris Elysee Montmartre (18)
Koln E-Werk (19)
Hague Crossing Border (21)
Antwerp Crossing Border (22)

The tour is to promote their self-titled album, which will be released in the UK on 22nd September. The group are giving away a free download of track ‘Say Please’ through their website.

The tracklisting is:

  1. ‘Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)’
  2. ‘Say Please’
  3. ‘Whole Lotta Losin”
  4. ‘Temazcal’
  5. ‘The Right Place’
  6. ‘Baby Boomer’
  7. ‘Man Named Truth’
  8. ‘Goodway’
  9. ‘Ahead of the Curve’
  10. ‘Slow Down Jo’
  11. ‘Losin Yo Head’
  12. ‘Magic Marker’
  13. ‘Map Of The World’
  14. ‘The Sandman, the Brakeman and Me’
  15. ‘His Master’s Voice’

Words: Lynn Roberts